I believe this is the first time that I’ve registered a mobile phone in another country. When we lived in London, there were no mobile phones. When I’ve lived in China, I just bought a cheap phone and that was it. Here, possessed of an unlocked ATT phone, I decided to go the distance – and a distance it was.

First, to the tax office to register the phone and pay the whatever tax 120 TL. Then, to a TurkCell bistro to buy a SIM card. 60 TL. Back to the tax office to register the SIM 0 TL. So, for roughly $90.00 I have an iPhone that’s probably good for the next year. If not, I can buy more time for $10.00.

Come to your own conclusions. Of course, in the US, we need landlines to run our fax machines. And, I need a crank to start my car. (Don’t anyone touch that.)

This entry was posted in Uncategorized. Bookmark the permalink.

Leave a Reply

